Convenience Central
Join our community
extra content

Star Women in Convenience Awards Event is going virtual


Screen Shot 2020-07-09 at 11.09.00 AMThe 2020 Star Women in Convenience winners will be celebrated at virtual event on Wednesday, November 4, 2020.

Now in it’s third year, SWIC is the first and only convenience store industry awards program in Canada that recognizes exceptional women making a difference and demonstrating commitment, innovation and leadership.

The nationwide industry celebration will kick off at 11 a.m. EST. It’s shaping up to be an engaging and exciting show that will include a keynote by PepsiCo Foods Canada president Cara Keating, panel discussion, networking opportunities and, of course, the awards presentation.

“It’s been quite a year and with that in mind, we believe celebrating this year’s Star Women winners is more important than ever before,” says Convenience Store News Canada editor, Michelle Warren. “This is a great opportunity to bring together the industry from coast to coast to coast. Expect a fun and inspired celebration worthy of the 2020 Star Women in Convenience.”

Registration is now open!

Tickets are $25 and 100% of revenue from ticket sales will go to Food Banks Canada COVID-19 Response Fund supporting local food banks across Canada.

2020 winners were chosen following an industry-wide call for nominations (January – April): Nominators were asked to illustrate the candidate’s innovation, leadership, financial and strategic accomplishments, exceptional performance and charitable initiatives.

SWIC celebrates the integral role women play in convenience retailing. The 2020 event will honour 23 Star Women, up from 17 in 2019 and 11 in 2018. The honourees come from a variety of backgrounds, from independent entrepreneurs to leaders in retail, distribution, manufacturing, industry associations and c-suite executives.

Jillian Anderson: National key account manager, PepsiCo Canada

Grace Caputo: Vice-president and general manager of Now Prepay, Payment Source

Hélène Drolet: Vice-president, operations, Western Canada Division, Circle K

Jessica Friesen: Owner-operator, Gales Gas Bars Ltd.

Leslie Gordon: Category portfolio manager convenience retail, Suncor Energy/Petro-Canada

Kim Green: Owner and CEO, Kay’s Wholesale Ltd.

Lesley Harany: Industry volunteer, Retired – JTI-Macdonald Corp.

Mary Kelly: President and CEO, Gateway Newstands

Fiona Kreschuk: Owner-operator, Petro-Canada

Mélissa Lessard: Head of marketing and merchandising, Canada, Alimentation Couche-Tard

Elizabeth Loschiavo: Corporate account manager, Core-Mark International

Jasmine MacDonnell: Manager, government & corporate affairs, National Smokeless Tobacco Company

Melani Melnyk: Shopper marketing manager, Mondelēz Canada

Donna Montminy: Director member relations, administration & events, Ontario Convenience Stores Association (OCSA)

Robbie Mulder: District manager, Little Short Stop Stores

Olga Pigeon: Director of marketing and strategy, BG Fuels

Robin Poulain: Director of sales – impulse and alternative channels, Kind Healthy Snacks

Paula Schaeffer: Retail sales manager, Pratts Wholesale

Marie-Hélène Senécal: Director, Eastern Canada, retail, InComm

Laurie Smith: Marketing and communications lead, Canada, 7-Eleven Canada Inc.

Hayley-Ann Swartz: Manager, non-fuels products and services, Husky Energy

Audrey Sylvain: National category manager, Parkland Corporation

Tiffany Taylor: Category portfolio manager, Suncor Energy/Petro-Canada

For full profiles and photos of the winners, visit