Skip to main content

Introducing the 2019 Star Women in Convenience

Photo: Mike Ford

This year’s Star Women in Convenience come from all facets of the c-store spectrum: sales, management, distribution and product development. While their backgrounds, career paths and experience all vary, one thing is constant across all the 2019 winners: these are women who get things done.

Accomplishments are second nature for the 17 honourees this year. They have broken through glass ceilings to sit on boards once the exclusive domain of their male colleagues. They have tackled controversial issues hand-in-hand with frontline c-store retailers and impacted the course of those issues across Canada. They have exceeded national sales targets—consistently.

The Star Women in Convenience Award was launched in 2018 to recognize exceptional women making a difference in the convenience industry. Women demonstrating commitment, innovation and leadership.

Mission accomplished.

Here are the 17 women we are celebrating this year:

Jackie Bellerose, Executive Vice-President - People Services, Carey Management Inc.

Bonnie Birollo, Vice-President, Operations, Circle K - Western Canada Division

Caroline Evans, Head of Corporate Affairs and Communications, JTI-Macdonald Corp.

Maryse Gagnon, Co-owner, Dépanneur Métabetchouan

Marie-Helene Jauron, Director of Sales, Convenience & Gas, PepsiCo Inc.

Wendy Kadlovski, Director of Operations, Nicholby’s Limited

Azra Khan, Owner, RanaCorp Inc. O/A Shell Canada

Anne P. Kothawala, President & CEO, Convenience Industry Council of Canada

Sabiha Malik, Area Retail License Petro-Canada, Calgary and Area

Jan McCallum, Business Development Manager, Ricola Canada

Kaitlin Minsky, Brand Manager – Protein Snacks, Conagra Brands Canada

Charlène Néwashish, Majority Owner, Dépanneur Eneri

Kerry Ann Nicholson, Director, National Accounts, Core-Mark International, Inc.

Annè Nielsen, Director, Business Development, ITWAL Ltd.

Sophie Provencher, Vice-President, Operations, Quebec West, Couche-Tard Inc.

Élaine Roy, Owner, Petro-Canada

Vanessa Theoret, Director, Channel Delivery, Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation

Click here to read the full profiles of the 2019 winners.

And, Convenience Store News Canada is celebrating the Star Women in Convenience Award recipients at an inaugural awards event breakfast on Oct. 8. Tickets on sale now!

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds